Best of Vail

Call Now

Denver: (303) 331-1700 | Vail Valley: (970) 926-1700
Frisco: (970) 855-2355 | Park Meadows: (303) 331-9500
Ask a Question

Helping Coloradoans For Over 30 Years

Call Now

Denver: (303) 331-1700 | Vail Valley and Frisco: (970) 926-1700

Colorado Car Accident Attorneys

Colorado Auto Accident Lawyer

Car Accident Attorney Serving Clients in Denver, Vail Valley, and throughout Eagle County and Summit County, CO

Fatal auto accidents are on the rise in Colorado. According to the Colorado State Patrol and Department of Public Safety, fatal collisions rose by almost 20 percent between 2020 and 2021. Nonfatal injury accidents have declined slightly in recent years, but thousands of crashes still occur in which Coloradans suffer. And when it comes to collisions alone, the state of Colorado recorded nearly 20,000. If you were injured in a motor vehicle crash in Colorado, speak with a Colorado car accident attorney about your case as soon as you can. An advocate at Bloch & Chapleau, LLC can get started on your case today.

Car Accident Lawyer in Colorado

Get the Facts About Colorado Traffic Crash Causes

What are some of the primary causes of car crashes in Colorado? In many cases, another driver’s negligence is to blame. Sometimes drivers are careless when they decide to talk on their phones, or when they get behind the wheel without enough sleep. Both distracted driving and drowsy driving can cause collisions. In other cases, drivers can be reckless, exceeding posted speed limits and behaving aggressively on the road. The Colorado State Patrol lists the following as some of the most frequent reasons that traffic collisions occur:

  • Inattentive or distracted driving (about 20 percent of all collisions);
  • Speeding (over 17 percent of all reported accidents);
  • Impaired driving, or DUI (nearly 14 percent of crashes in Colorado);
  • Failing to signal or weaving between lanes (nearly 13 percent of Colorado car accidents); and
  • Failure to yield the right of way (just over 6 percent of crashes identified in Colorado).

Colorado’s Switch to a Fault-Based Auto Accident System

As of 2003, Colorado no longer operates under a no-fault system for car accidents. This means that, under the new fault-based system, the driver who is liable for the crash and for subsequent injuries will be responsible for medical expenses and any additional damages.

While this means that you do not have to buy additional insurance coverage (PIP), filing an accident claim is more complicated and often frustrating for injured plaintiffs.

Filing Your Claim Within the Statute of Limitations

Under Colorado law (C.R.S. 13-80-101), plaintiffs who are injured in auto accidents have three years from the date of the injury to file a compensation claim. This is known as the statute of limitations. Failing to file your lawsuit within three years from the date of the crash can bar you from recovery. As such, it is extremely important to get started on your case. An aggressive Denver auto accident lawyer can assess the merits of your claim. They can speak with you about your options for seeking financial compensation.

Contact Colorado Car Accident Attorneys in Colorado

Were you injured in a car accident caused by another driver’s negligence? Our experienced car accident lawyer in Colorado can answer any questions you have and can help you get started on your claim. When another driver’s bad behavior causes a crash, the injury victim deserves to seek compensation for her losses. Contact Bloch & Chapleau, LLC today to learn more about how we can assist with your case.

Call Now

Denver: (303) 331-1700 | Vail Valley and Frisco: (970) 926-1700